Jodie - AI Answering Service

RingCentral AIR alternative

RingCentral AI Receptionist pricing and alternatives

In the UK it costs £32 a month for 100 minutes on top of a RingEX plan, while Jodie is a flat £49 with unlimited minutes.

✓ Booking included on Professional
✓ No phone system to buy first
✓ 7 days free, no card, cancel any time

Trusted by 1,600+ UK service businesses

MyBuilder - Trusted tradesperson platformRated People - Professional services marketplaceGoogle - Reviews and ratingsDaily Mail - News and media

RingCentral AI Receptionist vs Jodie: the short answer

RingCentral AI Receptionist is worth it if you already pay for RingEX and get few calls. In the UK it is sold only as a RingEX add-on, at £32 a month for 100 minutes, then 40p a minute. Jodie, the flat-rate alternative, costs £49 a month with unlimited minutes on your existing number.

What else you must buy

Jodie
Nothing: Jodie works with your existing number
RingCentral AI Receptionist
A RingEX phone plan, from £12.99 a user a month billed annually

Monthly price

Jodie
£49 Basic or £99 Professional a month, ex VAT
RingCentral AI Receptionist
£32 a month per account; VAT basis not stated

Minutes included

Jodie
Unlimited, fair use up to 1,000 calls a month
RingCentral AI Receptionist
100 minutes a month

After the included minutes

Jodie
No per-minute charge
RingCentral AI Receptionist
40p a minute, with call time rounded up to the next 30 seconds

Cost at 200 minutes a month

Jodie
£49 (Basic)
RingCentral AI Receptionist
£84.99: £32 AIR + £12.99 RingEX + £40 overage

Appointment booking

Jodie
Included on Professional (£99 a month)
RingCentral AI Receptionist
UK pricing page says coming soon; its UK FAQ says it books via calendars

Call transfers

Jodie
Included on Professional (£99 a month)
RingCentral AI Receptionist
Included: to any contact, extension or phone number

Call summaries and leads

Jodie
Email and app summary with recording and transcript
RingCentral AI Receptionist
Transcripts and call analytics; lead email alerts since July 2026

Integrations

Jodie
Zapier on Premium (£199 a month)
RingCentral AI Receptionist
Its UK FAQ names Salesforce and HubSpot; the UK pricing page lists none

Free trial

Jodie
7 days free, no card
RingCentral AI Receptionist
None on its AIR pricing page, which offers Contact sales or Buy now

RingCentral figures come from its UK AI Receptionist pricing page, RingEX pricing page and AI Receptionist FAQ, checked 5 October 2026. RingCentral does not say whether its UK prices include VAT; Jodie's prices exclude VAT. Jodie's unlimited minutes are subject to fair use of 1,000 calls a month.

Is RingCentral AI Receptionist any good?

What users and testers report, set against what RingCentral has changed since.

What users and testers praise

  • Impressive from day one

    A user who filmed a two-part video walkthrough said he was really impressed with what it offers out of the box.

    RingCentral lists self-serve setup, website import and unlimited agents on its pricing pages.

  • Natural conversation

    An independent tester who rang its demo line in March 2026 said the natural language handling worked as described, despite a few hiccups.

    Eight voice options are included, in several languages.

What users criticise

  • Talks over callers

    One admin said it interrupted callers mid-answer, such as while they gave an email address, and did not end calls once they were done.

    RingCentral's community manager suggested a support case; no fix was posted in that thread.

  • Lead details stuck in the portal

    An admin said details the AI collected reached nobody, and support told them to check the call log one call at a time.

    RingCentral added email alerts for captured leads in a July 2026 update.

  • Knowledge base misses

    Users said it answered wrongly from uploaded files and the 500-character business description was too short.

    Posts run from March 2025 to April 2026, when one user said it was still poor; test it on your own questions.

  • Features behind upgrades

    An office manager said onboarding told them AI overflow after 20 seconds would not work without buying an upgraded service.

    Ask RingCentral which plan your call flow needs before you buy.

Themes are paraphrased from public posts on RingCentral's community forum and from an independent tester's published review, read on 5 October 2026. They reflect individual experiences, some from 2025, and RingCentral has shipped updates since.

What would RingCentral AI Receptionist cost you?

Slide to your monthly AI minutes to compare AIR plus the cheapest RingEX plan with Jodie Basic at £49. Below about 110 minutes, RingCentral costs less.

Cost calculator

200
501,000

Jodie Basic

£49/mo

Flat. Unlimited.

Competitor: AIR add-on + RingEX Essentials (billed annually)

£85/mo

£45 base + £40 overage

You'd save

£36/month (£432/year)

RingCentral figures are from its UK AI Receptionist and RingEX pricing pages, checked 5 October 2026: AIR is £32 a month per account with 100 minutes, then £0.40 a minute, and RingEX Essentials is £12.99 a user a month billed annually (£17.99 monthly). RingCentral bills call time in 30-second steps and does not price its extra minute bundles, so real bills may run higher. Already on RingEX? AIR alone costs less than Jodie Basic below about 142 minutes. Jodie Basic answers calls and sends summaries; booking and transfers are on Professional at £99, which costs less than AIR plus RingEX above about 235 minutes. Unlimited minutes are subject to fair use of 1,000 calls a month.

Three ways Jodie differs from RingCentral AI Receptionist

Each one is set out on RingCentral's own UK pricing pages.

01

No phone system to buy first

In the UK, RingCentral sells AI Receptionist only as an add-on to its RingEX phone system, so you pay for both. Jodie answers calls forwarded from the number you already have.

RingCentral's own FAQ sells AIR 'as an add-on in the U.K. and Australia', and RingEX starts at £12.99 a user a month.

02

Unlimited minutes, not 100

AIR includes 100 minutes a month, then charges 40p a minute, rounded up to the next 30 seconds. Jodie Basic is £49 a month however long your calls run.

At 200 minutes a month, AIR plus RingEX Essentials costs £84.99, while Jodie Basic stays at £49.

03

Free for 7 days, no card

RingCentral's UK AI Receptionist pricing page has no free trial, so you talk to sales or buy outright. Jodie gives you 7 days free with no card, on your real calls.

RingCentral's UK free trial is for RingEX phone plans, capped at five users and 50 domestic call minutes each.

RingCentral AI Receptionist pricing: what is published

RingCentral publishes the AIR price and its overage rate. The RingEX plan it needs is priced on another page, and no AIR trial or contract term is shown.

Jodie RingCentral AI Receptionist
AI receptionist price on the pricing page
Jodie lists £49, £99 and £199. RingCentral shows £32 a month per account, with 100 minutes.
Extra-minute charges spelled out
Jodie has none. RingCentral charges 40p a minute in 30-second steps, and sells extra minute bundles without a published price.
Required phone plan priced on the AI receptionist page
Jodie needs no phone plan. AIR needs RingEX, priced on a separate page from £12.99 a user a month.
Free trial of the AI receptionist
Jodie: 7 days, no card. RingCentral's UK AIR pricing page offers Contact sales or Buy now.
Contract term stated
Jodie is month to month. RingCentral's UK AIR page does not state the add-on's term or notice period.
VAT basis stated
Jodie's prices exclude VAT. RingCentral's UK AI Receptionist and RingEX pages do not say.

RingCentral AI Receptionist: common questions

How much does RingCentral AI Receptionist cost?

In the UK, RingCentral AI Receptionist costs £32 a month per account with 100 minutes, then 40p a minute in 30-second steps. It is sold only as an add-on, so you also need a RingEX plan from £12.99 a user a month billed annually. Jodie is £49 a month flat with unlimited minutes.

What is an AI receptionist in RingCentral?

RingCentral AI Receptionist (AIR) is an AI agent that answers business calls in a natural voice. It answers questions from your website and documents, takes caller details and routes callers by name or need. RingCentral launched it in February 2025 as an alternative to press-1 phone menus.

Do I need a RingCentral phone plan to use AI Receptionist?

Yes, in the UK. RingCentral's FAQ says it is sold standalone or as an add-on in the US and Canada, but only as an add-on in the UK and Australia. You can forward calls to it from any number, but you need a RingEX plan from £12.99 a user a month, billed annually.

Is RingCentral AI Receptionist any good?

RingCentral AI Receptionist is good for businesses already on RingEX: it answers in a natural voice, routes callers by name and, since a July 2026 update, can email new leads to your team. An admin on RingCentral's own forum reported it talking over callers. Test it on your own calls before you commit.

Is there a free trial of RingCentral AI Receptionist?

Not on its UK pricing page, which offers Contact sales or Buy now. RingCentral's RingEX phone plans have a free trial for new subscribers, capped at five users and 50 domestic call minutes each. Jodie gives you 7 days free with no card, so you can test her on your real calls first.

How is AI Receptionist different from RingCentral's Virtual Receptionist?

RingCentral's Virtual Receptionist is an auto-attendant: a phone menu that asks callers to press or say an option. AI Receptionist holds a real conversation instead, answering questions and routing callers by name or need. Jodie also holds a real conversation, at a flat monthly price with unlimited minutes.

Can I keep RingCentral and use Jodie instead of AI Receptionist?

Yes. Keep RingEX as your phone system and send unanswered or after-hours calls to a user extension that forwards to your Jodie number, instead of to AI Receptionist. Run both for a week, then ask RingCentral to remove the AIR add-on before its renewal date.

How to switch from RingCentral AI Receptionist to Jodie

Keep RingEX as your phone system and swap only the AI. You never lose cover while you test.

Total time: Under 1 hour of setup, plus 5-7 days running both

  1. Start your 7-day Jodie trial

    10 minutes

    Sign up with no card and train Jodie from your website. You get a Jodie number to send calls to straight away.

  2. Send after-hours calls to Jodie first

    10 minutes

    In the RingCentral Admin Portal, send closed-hours calls to a user extension that forwards to your Jodie number, instead of to AI Receptionist. AIR keeps covering the day.

  3. Run both for 5-7 days

    5-7 days

    Compare Jodie's call summaries with AIR's transcripts on real calls. When you are happy, send business-hours calls to Jodie the same way.

  4. Remove the AI Receptionist add-on

    Before your next renewal

    RingCentral does not publish the add-on's term on its UK pricing page, so check your order form for the renewal date and notice period. Then ask your account rep to remove AIR.

  5. Test a missed call and check your bill

    5 minutes

    Ring your business number, let it go unanswered and confirm Jodie picks up. Check your next RingCentral bill shows no AI Receptionist charge or overage.

Run Jodie next to RingCentral free for 7 days

No card and no sales demo. Send your after-hours calls to Jodie and compare her summaries with AIR's.

First 7 days free, then pricing from £49/month